Action for Children Scotland unveils its nominees for its ‘Woman of Influence’ 2018 award

Posted by Media team / Tuesday 13 February 2018 /
Alison McGregor Official Photo (1)

Action for Children Scotland has announced the shortlist for its 18th annual ‘Woman of Influence’ awards.  

The prestigious awards ceremony recognises remarkable women in Scotland who have had an outstanding impact on society and are role models to the disadvantaged children, young people, and families the charity supports. Last year, Judy Murray was honoured at the event in recognition of her success in the world of sport as well her commitment to encouraging young people, particularly girls, to live healthier and more active lifestyles.


This year’s nominees are:

  • Alison McGregor, Chief Executive Officer, Scotland, HSBC: Business;
  • Margaret Gibson OBE, Scotland Hub Leader and Head of Social Enterprise Services, EY Foundation (Ernst & Young): Education & Public Sector;
  • Morna Simpson, CEO at Enterprise Porridge Ltd: Innovation & Technology;
  • Susan Calman, Comedian and Ambassador for Target Ovarian Cancer: Arts & Sport.

On Sunday, March 18, the overall winner will be announced at a special luncheon at the Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow hosted by STV Presenter Jennifer Reoch. For the first time ever, a rising star from Scottish society will also be recognised with the ‘Woman to Watch’ award. Since 2001, the event has raised more than £1.1m to support the charity’s work across Scotland.

Patries MacIntyre, chair of the Woman of Influence Awards 2018, said: “We are delighted to announce the nominees for this year’s ‘Woman of Influence’ awards. Every year, the ‘Woman of Influence’ awards recognise remarkable women in Scotland and this year is no different. 

“The entire ‘Woman of Influence’ board has been working incredibly hard this year to deliver this fantastic event and we are very much looking forward to a successful day raising funds to support the important work of Action for Children in Scotland.”

Paul Carberry, Director of Action for Children in Scotland, added: “The ‘Woman of Influence’ award recognises women who have made a real impact in Scotland and beyond. We believe that each of the nominees is an inspiration to the next generation of women in Scotland and are outstanding role models for the young women we work with across Scotland.

“This annual event has raised more than £1million to support our work in Scotland, which has made a huge difference to the lives of the disadvantaged children, families and young people that we support.”


Media contact: Craig Wilson, Media Officer for Action for Children, on 0780 978 1190/0141 550 9010 or email [email protected]. Out of hours on 07802 806 679 or email [email protected]

Photos of nominees available for download via links at bottom of the release.

About Action for Children 

Action for Children Scotland works directly with more than 14,000 children, young people, parents and carers each year.  With 87 services in Scotland, we are in communities where you live and work. We help transform the lives of thousands of children and young people each year and we’ve been doing so for 60 years. For more information, visit or follow us on Twitter @actn4childrScot

About the Woman of Influence Award

Nominees for the Action for Children Scotland Woman of Influence Award are put forward by the committee for the event and the winner is selected by a panel of judges – which this year includes previous winner Olivia Giles and representatives from Action for Children Scotland. The winner receives a unique award designed by Paul Hodgkiss.

 Previous Women of Influence have included: Judy Murray; TV journalist, Kirsty Wark, Olympic gold medallist, Katherine Grainger CBE; feminist historian and activist, Dr Lesley Orr; TV presenter, Lorraine Kelly; Elaine C Smith, actress and comedienne; Ann Gloag, Stagecoach founder and philanthropist; Helen Liddell, Scotland’s first female Secretary of State; Olivia Giles, motivational speaker and charity campaigner; author JK Rowling; musician Nicola Benedetti and Helena Kennedy QC.